Boxing: Referee could be sanctioned after controversial scoring decision is overturned in Satoshi Shimizu's favour
Japan were tonight successful with an appeal against Satoshi Shimizu's controversial Olympic Games bantamweight defeat to Magomed Abdulhamidov at ExCeL.
An International Boxing Association (AIBA) investigation was under way into how the initial result came to be, with action against the referee, Ishanguly Meretnyyazov of Turkmenistan, a possibility.
AIBA said the result had been overturned with Shimizu now declared the winner, and he goes forward to the quarter-finals.
Shimizu, trailing 12-5 going into the final round, hurt Azeri opponent Abdulhamidov with a body shot and proceeded to send him to the floor five times in the round, during which time Abdulhamidov also received a two-point... read more
Most read news
- 23:16 David Moyes insists Manchester United will NOT panic buy in January
- 23:08 Barack Obama, Oprah and Bono to visit South Africa to pay tribute...
- 23:07 Darts fan looks like Jesus: Phil Taylor asks authorities not to...
- 23:01 Coalition is ‘totally ignoring’ disabled on transport issues
- 22:50 Metro Manila wins best British indie film award
- 22:48 Joe Root shows England how to tame Australia in second Ashes Test
- 22:48 Neil Robertson fed up of commentators making spectators LAUGH ahead...
- 22:48 Sam Allardyce's West Ham future in doubt as owners fear repeating...
- 22:48 Rene Meulensteen praises Fulham ''feel-good factor'' as Cottagers...
- 22:29 Lady Gaga wears bra and huge dreadlocks on the Capital FM Jingle...