Controversial Shimizu defeat overturned leaving referee facing potential action
Japan have won an appeal against Satoshi Shimizu's controversial Olympic Games bantamweight defeat to Magomed Abdulhamidov at ExCeL.
An International Boxing Association (AIBA) investigation was under way into how the initial result came to be, with action against the referee, Ishanguly Meretnyyazov of Turkmenistan, a possibility.
AIBA said the result had been overturned with Shimizu now declared the winner, and he goes forward to the quarter-finals.
Shimizu, trailing 12-5 going into the final round, hurt Azeri opponent Abdulhamidov with a body shot and proceeded to send him to the floor five times in the round, during which time Abdulhamidov also received a two-point penalty.
Most read news
- 17:35 West Brom 2 - Crystal Palace 2: All Said and done as Berahino...
- 17:35 Sunderland vs Arsenal match report: Alexis Sanchez on target twice...
- 17:33 Bournemouth’s Marc Pugh hits hat-trick as Birmingham leak eight
- 17:32 Matt Warman is selected as the Conservatives' Parliamentary...
- 17:30 Southampton 1, Stoke City 0: Better than our 8-0 win says Ronald...
- 17:30 Look: Rate the players following the Sky Blues' brilliant comeback...
- 17:30 Look: Coventry City 3-2 Peterborough - Sky Blues battle back from...
- 17:27 Arsenal’s Alexis Sánchez punishes Sunderland’s defensive howlers
- 17:22 Leeds 1 - Wolves 2: Leon Clarke's late strike hands visitors...
- 15:22 SNAPPED: Liverpool fans ditch Mario Balotelli shirts outside Anfield