Controversial Shimizu defeat overturned leaving referee facing potential action
Japan have won an appeal against Satoshi Shimizu's controversial Olympic Games bantamweight defeat to Magomed Abdulhamidov at ExCeL.
An International Boxing Association (AIBA) investigation was under way into how the initial result came to be, with action against the referee, Ishanguly Meretnyyazov of Turkmenistan, a possibility.
AIBA said the result had been overturned with Shimizu now declared the winner, and he goes forward to the quarter-finals.
Shimizu, trailing 12-5 going into the final round, hurt Azeri opponent Abdulhamidov with a body shot and proceeded to send him to the floor five times in the round, during which time Abdulhamidov also received a two-point penalty.
Most read news
- 00:55 Bling it on: The best costume jewellery for the festive season
- 00:55 All I want for Christmas: The best last-minute stocking fillers
- 00:46 John Niven: We can try to put ourselves in the minds of the killers...
- 00:46 Jackie Bird: In a woeful week for the world, let us be thankful for...
- 00:37 A Christmas ghost story by Alison Moore: A prodigal daughter has a...
- 00:37 Introducing ethical dining that leaves a good taste in the mouth
- 00:37 Christmas Details Competition: Who is beneath the hats in these...
- 00:37 The best winter accessories for men: Even the hardiest need a...
- 00:37 Wine: The best red for turkey, white for chicken and sparkler for...
- 00:37 Bill Granger recipes: Our chef creates an Italian-inspired fish...